Officer of the Year

congratulations to our 2022 officers of the year

Detective Christopher Cox - Aurora Police Department

K-9 Senior Patrolman Justin Brown - Elgin Police Department

The 2022 Kane County Officer of the Year banquet was held at Riverside Receptions in Geneva where the Kane County Chiefs of Police Association, in partnership with the Batavia Moose Lodge #682 recognized several officers from the member agencies for their outstanding work in law enforcement for 2021.

Geneva Mayor Kevin Burns was the keynote speaker. The event was a celebration and the first in-person awards banquet since the beginning of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Below is the list of the nominees.

Aurora Police Department: Detective Christopher Cox

Aurora Police Department: Officer Pedro Rodriguez

Aurora Police Department: Officer William Joshua Sullivan

Bartlett Police Department: Officer Derek Bansley

Bartlett Police Department: Officer Nikko Ingrassia

Campton Hills Police Department: Officer James Levand (nominated by the Sheriff)

Elburn Police Department: Officer Hugo Nunez

Elgin Police Department: Senior Patrolman (S/P) Justin Brown

Geneva Police Department: Sergeant Brad Jerdee

Geneva Police Department: Detective Bob Pech

Illinois State Police District 15: Trooper David Lopez

Kane County Sheriff's Office: Deputy Steven Burch

Kane County Sheriff's Office: Deputy Susan Deuchler

Kane County Sheriff's Office Deputy Wesley Phelps

Montgomery Police Department: Sergeant Greg Mayyou

Montgomery Police Department: Detective Chris Johnson

Montgomery Police Department: Detective Jason Friedrich

St. Charles Police Department: Officer Steve Mattas


Winner Announced Kane County Chiefs of Police Association Officer of the Year Press Release 022422 (003).docx